Red Shed

I’ve just taken down my piece from the Open Windows exhibition. The exhibition took place throughout Stromness with the street as the gallery with artists showing in windows. It’s a project I’ve been involved in running with fellow artists Diana Leslie, Ros Bryant & Frances Pelly since 2009 and this was our last year. Artist Laura Drever will be taking it on and moving it east to Kirkwall.

This year the theme was Light. I made work connected to the space I was showing in – the Red Shed formerly the Lifeboat station now a dive centre Scapa Scuba   thinking about how divers see deep under dark water using torches. So the work was a series of photograms made using torchlight and then solarised with torch light while they were developing. The piece is called ‘Plikko’ an Orkney word for torch.

‘Plikko’

Photograms

3 silver gelatin prints (edition of one)

£150 framed

30cm x 80cm